Date/Time
May 10, 2021
8:30 am PDT - 1:30 pm PDT

Categories


May 10, 2021 @ 8:30am PDT / 9:30am MDT / 11:30am EDT

  • 8:30am-9:30am PDT
  • Break- 9:30am-9:40am PDT
  • 9:40am-10:40am PDT
  • Meal Break- 10:40am-11:10am PDT
  • 11:10am-12:10pm PDT
  • Break- 12:10pm-12:20pm PDT
  • 12:20pm-13:30pm PDT, includes Q&A

$100

  1. Complete online registration form
  2. Both offline and online payment methods are accepted. You can sign up and choose “invoice,” but you won’t be considered registered or have access to the Zoom link until payment is received. Another option is to do a payment plan (sign up for this by February 1, 2021) with the $100 tuition divided either by 4 times of $25 or 2 times of $50 with final payment due the day of the workshop.
  3. Included with the cost is the audio/video files to be sent out by May 17, 2021 due to size of files and being during Festival Week for Story Crossroads. Prepare your lunch/meal ahead of time so you can mingle with fellow participants, if you so choose.

About the 5-hour Workshop:

Always wanted to know what it feels like to be Indiana Jones?

This is your chance to take a dive into remote, obscure corners of the past, following a half-forgotten trail of folktales and legends. Researching traditional stories can be difficult, but it also leads to exciting, unexpected, and illuminating discoveries. This session, led by an archaeologist and storyteller, offers insight into how to track down some of the most elusive tales.

Become familiar with the basics of storytelling research as well as some lesser known techniques for tracking down a tale.

Discover classic folklore research tools (e.g. the ATU motif index) and how they work together with modern media. Track stories down beyond Google search. Take research across language barriers, and learn tips on how to organize and maintain one’s notes and findings.

Share This